top of page

Annie the Intern

In August I started an internship at my favorite place in the world. I considered all kinds of options after graduation, but after many pro con lists, much prayer, and countless conversations with my super patient roommates and friends, I decided to spend my first post grad year at camp. I wrote a whole post about it, but now that I’m a few months in, I want to answer the question, ‘so, what do you do?’

First of all, camp is year round. There were as many people on LCCC’s property in September and October as there were this past summer. Our Guest Services program is growing, which means all kinds of hosting. Hosting entails set up, being on call, sharing the every exciting rules and assumption of risk statement, starting camp fires and practicing hospitality.

Our adventure education program, also runs year round. Turns out, people need team building all the time, not just with their cabin mates in the summer. We facilitate groups of university employees, teammates, classmates and youth groups through team building initiatives, high ropes courses, laser tag and group games.

We help in the kitchen. I touch hot pans embarrassingly often, but I can also make 300 pancakes in an hour. You win some, you lose some.

I run our social media accounts, help with fundraising, am a part of writing an updated HR policy, recruiting and interviewing for summer staff.

I live on a beautiful state park like property, live in community, and work with a group of people with such a wide variety of hobbies, knowledge and experience- I would have to try to not learn and grow in each social and work interaction.

I miss St. Louis and I am not quite living the glamorous life that some desire after they graduate college, but it is exactly what I need. This year is more than a step on the way to somewhere. It is good in and of itself. I made a choice to slow down, (although, my world doesn't feel all that slow most of the time). I decided I wanted to learn how to do a lot of things, take time and discern and go and be where I feel called to be. So that's what I'm doing. I haven't a clue what I'll be doing this time next year and for now that is good. I have hopes and dreams, and a big long list of things that sound fun. I do know I want to be in spaces of ministry, doing relational work. I want to be someone who helps connect people- to others, to God, to themselves. Excited to figure it out, but not too anxious to get there, that's where I am.

I plan to keep writing, mostly for myself, for the sake of writing, recording and processing my world, but I'm inviting you along for the ride. It seems more fun that way.

LCCC 2017-2018 Interns, I really like doing life with them, (photo by Melissa Jinks).


Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page